These Are the 20 Republicans Who Voted Against Jim Jordan for House Speaker, Resulting in His First Vote Loss

Jim Jordan, the House Judiciary Committee Chairman, faced defeat in the initial House speakership vote as a significant number of Republicans opted for alternative candidates.

Jordan secured just 200 votes, falling well short of the required 217 to claim the speaker’s position. Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries emerged as the top vote recipient with 212 votes, all from Democrats.

Among House Republicans, 20 chose candidates other than Jordan to succeed House Speaker Kevin McCarthy. Some backed McCarthy, others supported Steve Scalise, and a few opted for candidates such as Reps. Thomas Massie, Tom Cole, and former Rep. Lee Zeldin.

Steve Scalise received 7 votes, McCarthy received 6, Zeldin received 3, and four other candidates garnered a single vote each.

Jordan needed 217 votes to secure victory, but he could only tolerate three Republican defections. However, more than a dozen Republicans voted for different contenders, leading to his defeat.

Following the vote, the House entered a recess period.

Below, you’ll find the list of the 20 Republicans who cast their votes against Jordan, as reported by The Washington Examiner:

Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE) — voted for Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA)
Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO) — voted for Tom Emmer (R-MN)
Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer (R-OR) — voted for McCarthy
Rep. Anthony D’Esposito (R-NY) — voted for former New York Republican Rep. Lee Zeldin
Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL) — voted for House Majority Leader Steve Scalise (R-LA)
Rep. Jake Ellzey (R-TX) — voted for Rep. Mike Garcia (R-CA)
Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY) — voted for Zeldin
Rep. Carlos Giminez (R-FL) — voted for McCarthy

Rep. Tony Gonzalez (R-TX) — voted for Scalise
Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX) — voted for Scalise
Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA) — voted for Scalise
Rep. Jen Kiggans (R-VA) — voted for McCarthy
Rep. Nick LaLota (R-NY) — voted for Zeldin
Rep. Mike Lawler (R-NY) — voted for McCarthy
Rep. John Rutherford (R-FL) — voted for Scalise
Rep. Mike Simpson (R-ID) — voted for Scalise

Rep. Steve Womack (R-AR) — voted for Scalise
Rep. John James (R-MI) — voted for Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK)
Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-CA) — voted for McCarthy
Rep. Victoria Spartz (R-IN) — voted for Rep. Thomas Massie (R-KY)