Six Republican Alternate Electors Indicted by Nevada Jury for Asserting Trump’s Victory in 2020 Election

On Wednesday, a Nevada grand jury indicted six Republicans, including figures like Nevada Republican Party Chair Michael McDonald and Vice Chair Jim Hindle III. They were charged for falsely presenting themselves as the state’s presidential electors post the 2020 election.

The group, which also includes National Committeeman Jim DeGraffenreid, Clark County Republican Party Chair Jesse Law, Shawn Meehan, and Eileen Rice, asserted to be the state’s representatives for the Electoral College, submitting certificates alleging Donald Trump’s victory in the 2020 election, as reported by the Nevada Independent.

The investigation by Democratic Attorney General Aaron Ford into these individuals was initially disclosed in mid-November.

“When the efforts to undermine faith in our democracy began after the 2020 election, I made it clear that I would do everything in my power to defend the institutions of our nation and our state,” Ford said in a statement.

“We cannot allow attacks on democracy to go unchallenged. Today’s indictments are the product of a long and thorough investigation, and as we pursue this prosecution, I am confident that our judicial system will see justice done.”

The six Republicans were charged with one count each of “Offering a False Instrument for Filing Or Record” and one count of “Uttering a Forged Instrument,” per The Nevada Globe.